Los Angeles Awarded Promise Zone Designation

On the 50th anniversary of President Lyndon B. Johnson’s initiation of the war on poverty, the City of Los Angeles and lead partner Youth Policy Institute were awarded a federal Promise Zone designation from the US Department of Housing and Urban Development


The goal of the initiative is to significantly reduce poverty through job creation, increased economic activity, improved educational opportunities, improved public safety, leveraged private capital, preserving and expanding housing affordability, and through smart growth policies.

Los Angeles is one of only three cities in the nation to receive this new designation.

The Los Angeles Promise Zone covers the central Los Angeles neighborhoods of Hollywood, East Hollywood, Koreatown, Pico-Union, and Westlake. There are 45 schools in the Los Angeles Promise Zone, which will receive support to increase academic achievement and prepare students for college and careers.

In addition to Los Angeles, the cities of Philadelphia and San Antonio were awarded urban Promise Zone designations, and rural designations were awarded to southeastern Kentucky and the Choctaw Nation in Oklahoma.

Map of the Los Angeles Promise Zone:


Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

Volunteer Donate Contact

Get Updates