Thank You! YPI Gala 2016: A Promise to Los Angeles

October 11, 2016

The Youth Policy Institute welcomed over 300 guests to our seventh annual gala, A Promise to Los Angeles last Friday. Guests enjoyed dinner under the stars at Paramount Pictures, as we honored Antonia Hernández, President & CEO, California Community Foundation; and Joseph Sanberg, Co-founder & Chair, Special guests included Mayor Eric Garcetti, Chris Pine, Victor Webster, and Tim Robbins. Rose C. of Hermosa Beach won a once-in-a-lifetime raffle prize of dinner by Aarón Sánchez and a concert at the iHeartRadio Theater.


[Stars of the evening: Actor Chris Pine with members of the Vaughn High School Jazz Band]

Welcoming remarks were shared by LAUSD Board President Steve Zimmer with students Leon Popa and Juana Ortiz, after a great performance by the Vaughn High School Jazz Band. Principal Paul Hirsch of STEM Academy of Hollywood introduced Paola Lopez-Cordon, who just started her first year at UCLA. Guests were also treated to keepsake tiles that were handpainted by dozens of middle and high school students.


Led by the indefatigable Tim Robbins and Mayor Garcetti, the program included a text-to-donate opportunity, allowing guests to send a donation via text message in support of YPI’s Promise Scholars program. Our generous guests exceeded our goal of $50,000 (led by the Annenberg Foundation donating $10,000)—and grew even further, thanks to a challenge gift of $25,000 by honoree Joseph Sanberg.


See more photos

There was even a surprise—YPI staff and board members took over the stage to congratulate Iris Zuñiga on her 10th anniversary at YPI, and Dixon Slingerland on his 25th!

Watch the video

Many thanks to everyone who made A Promise to Los Angeles such a success! We hope to see you next year.


Katie McGrath & J.J. Abrams
Fred Ali
James Alva*
Annenberg Foundation
Robert A. Annibale
Dennis Arriola
Barney & Barney
Ambassador Frank & Kathy Baxter
Benedict Canyon Equities
Blue Apron
Blue Garnet
Andrew E. Bogen*
Broad Foundation
California Community Foundation
California Emerging
      Technology Fund
The California Endowment
California Wellness Foundation
Celerity Global Development
Citi Community Development
Conway Collis
Angelina Corona*
Bruce Corwin
Aileen Adams & Geoffrey Cowan
Glen Dake
Gibson Dunn
Percy Duran*
El Super
Emerald Asset Management
ES Advertising
Moctesuma Esparza
Chris Essel
First 5 LA
Brenda* & Tom Freiberg
Laurie Goldman
Leron Gubler
Hill Harper
Jose Atilio Hernandez
Charles Hirschhorn
Myung Ki “Mike” Hong*
IDEATE California
Yasmine & Matthew Johnson
Kaiser Foundation Hospitals
Susan Genco & Mitch Kamin
Cinny Kennard
Kindel Gagan Public Affairs
Maureen Kindel
Alwin La Pietra
Ari Lanin*
Sandra Lee*
David Abel* & Brenda Levin
Los Angeles World Airports
Loyola Marymount University
Jacques Massachi
Marc Mitchell
Nederlander Concerts /
      Hollywood Pantages
Occidental Entertainment
One West Bank
Paramount Contractors
      & Developers, Inc.
Paramount Pictures
PCG Education
Lisa Cleri Reale
Steven Rindner*
Riordan Foundation
Robert K. Ross
Sacred Bull Media
Martha Saucedo
Stephanie Daily Smith
Soledad Enrichment Action
Sony Pictures Entertainment
Ron Stone
Tennis Channel
TruAmerica Multifamily
United Way of Los Angeles
Tom* & Janet Unterman
US Trust
Gustavo Valdivia
Jon Vein
Walt Disney Company
Ferris Wehbe
Ziffren Brittenham

*YPI Board of Directors

Make a promise to YPI and donate now

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

Volunteer Donate Contact

Get Updates